UM MUSE Carnot Chimie Balard Cirimat Pole Balard

Supervisory authorities

ENSCM CNRS UM

Scientific production

IEM HAL

Search




Home > Research > Research departments > Interfaces, Physical Chemistry and Polymers (IP2) > Bioinspired Membranes

Research Activities

by Marc ROLLAND -

(Bio)molecule at solid/liquid interfaces and confinement

We are interested by the phenomena which occurs at solid/liquid interface, more specifically, (bio)macromolecules the protein and dye adsorption. In this field, we work to understand the relationship structure/properties of protein when they are loaded on material. To do so, we develop experimental devices based on time resolved fluorescence and confocal spectroscopy. The solid objects are focus on silicone based, clay, 2D material and nanoparticle. We also interested by the behavior of polyelectrolyte and polymer under confinement. Typically we study the swelling and the organization of macromolecule when they are grafted or adsorbed inside nanopore.
Current projects :

Transport under confinement and nanofluidic

This topic aim to understand the transport phenomena of simple electrolyte (ion), (bio)macromolecules (protein, DNA,), protein aggregate, amyloid and nanoparticle through single nanopore. In this field our activity is focus on solid-state and polymer nanopores with different geometry and surface functionalization. Beside the fundamental aspect, we aim to develop nanopore technology for protein assembly and nanoparticle sensing.
Grants :
Projet NANODIAG grant by la région LR and FEDER (2016-2018), Topic : Detection of biomarker by nanopore as new diagnosis tools
AmiDiag grand by université de Montpellier and LABEX ChemiSyst (2017-2019) Thematique : Single nanopore for amyloid fibril detection

Bio-inspired and biomimetic materials and nanopores

This topic aims to design biomimetic and bio-inspired surface and nanopore. As exemple for the nanopore, we define strategies of functionalization to mimic biological channel in term of selectivity, response against stimuli (pH, light, ligand etc..). Such nanopore can be upscaled to for application in sensor, osmotic energy harvesting, logical circuit. Besides nanopore, we design multifunctional surfaces for biosensing, and health application.

Grants :
SIMI 8 TRANSION (2013-2017) Topic : Study of ionic transport through confined ionic channel

Specific equipment:
Time resolved fluorescence spectroscopy (solution and confocal setup), epifluorescence microscope, diffusion light scattering, patch-clamp amplifier.

Our group collaborates with many groups in france, UE and non UE country.
France: J. Palmeri (L2C, Montpellier) M. Manghi (LPT, Toulouse) et F. Picaud (LNIT, Besançon) MC Clochard et PE Coulomb (LSI, Palaiseau) E Balanzat (CIMAP –Caen) M Jaber (LAMS, UPMC)
UE: A. Kocer Department of Neurosciences, University of Groningen, (Pays-Bas)
Non UE: A. Ben Haj Amara université de l’université de Bizerte (Tunisie) M. Kharroubi université de Djelfa (Algérie) Narayana Kalkura Crystal Growth Centre, Anna University, Chennai, (Inde) L. Dumee Institute for Frontier Materials, Deakin University (Australie)

UM MUSE Carnot Chimie Balard Cirimat Pole Balard

Nos tutelles

ENSCM CNRS UM

Notre production

IEM HAL

Rechercher





Accueil > Recherche > Les départements scientifiques > Interface, Physicochimie, Polymères (IP2) > Interfaces Bioinspirées

Activités de recherche

par Marc ROLLAND -

Biomacromolécules aux interfaces liquide/solide et confinement

Nous nous intéressons aux phénomènes qui se produisent aux interfaces solide / liquide, plus précisément à l’adsorption de (bio)macromolécules, protéines et colorants. Dans ce domaine, nous nous attachons à comprendre les relations structure/propriétés des protéines lorsqu’elles sont en interaction avec un materiau. Pour ce faire, nous développons des dispositifs expérimentaux basés sur la fluorescence résolue en temps et la spectroscopie confocale. Les matériaux étudiés sont à base silice, l’argile, les matériaux 2D et les nanoparticules. Nous nous intéressons également au comportement des polyélectrolytes et des polymères confinés. Typiquement, nous étudions leur gonflement et leur organisation quand ils sont greffés ou adsorbés à l’intérieur des nanopores.

Transport sous confinement et nanofluidique

Cette thématique vise à comprendre les phénomènes de transport des électrolytes simples (ion), (bio)macromolécules (protéines, ADN), agrégats de protéines, amyloïdes et nanoparticules à travers d’un nanopore unique. Dans ce domaine, notre activité est centrée sur les nanopores en semi-conducteur (SiN) et polymères de différente la géométrie et fonctionnalisé. À côté de l’aspect fondamental de nos études, cette activité a pour objectif le développement de technologie nanopore pour la détection d’’assemblage de protéine (amyloïde et agrégat) et de nanoparticules.

Projets :
Projet NANODIAG financé par la région et le FEDER, Thématique : Détection de traces de biomarqueurs par nanopore un nouvelle outil de diagnostic précoce.
AmiDiag co-financement université de Montpellier et le LABEX ChemiSyst Thematique : Nanopore unique pour la détection d’amyloïde

Matériaux et nanopores biomimétiques et bio-inspirés.

Cette thématique vise à la conception des surfaces et des nanopores biomimétiques et bio-inspirés. A titre d’exemple pour le nanopore, nous définissons des stratégies de fonctionnalisation pour imiter les canaux biologiques en termes de sélectivité, de réponse aux stimuli (pH, lumière, ligand etc.). Ces nanopores peuvent être ensuite utilisé pour des applications de capteurs, la production d’énergie osmotique ou comme le circuit logique. Nous concevons également des surfaces multifonctionnelles pour obtenir des biocapteurs et des application dans le domaine la santé.

Projets :
SIMI 8 TRANSION (2013-2017) Thématique : Etudes Transport ionique dans des canaux ioniques biologiques confinés.

Equipements spécifiques :
Spectroscopie de fluorescence résolue dans le temps (solution et en mode confocal), microscope épifluorescence, diffusion de la lumière, amplificateur de patch-clamp.

Principales collaborations ;
France : J. Palmeri (L2C, Montpellier) M. Manghi (LPT, Toulouse) et F. Picaud (LNIT, Besançon) MC Clochard et PE Coulomb (LSI, Palaiseau) E. Balanzat (CIMAP –Caen) M. Jaber (LAMS, UPMC)
UE : A. Kocer Department of Neurosciences, University of Groningen, (Pays-Bas)
Non UE : A. Ben Haj Amara université de l’université de Bizerte (Tunisie) M. Kharroubi université de Djelfa (Algérie) Narayana Kalkura Crystal Growth Centre, Anna University, Chennai, (Inde) L. Dumee Institute for Frontier Materials, Deakin University (Australie)