UM MUSE Carnot Chimie Balard Cirimat Pole Balard

Supervisory authorities

ENSCM CNRS UM

Scientific production

IEM HAL

Search




Home > Research > Research departments > Design of Membrane Materials and Multifunctional systems > Biomimetic Interfaces and Nanopores

Biomimetic Interfaces and Nanopores

Permanent staff:

Dr. Sébastien BALME

Univ Montpellier

Dr. Jean-Marc JANOT

CNRS

The "Biomimetic Interfaces and Nanopores" team brings together multidisciplinary chemical-physical and biophysical skills. The issues addressed are those of adsorption, transport and confinment of biomacromolecule or molecules of biological interest. One of the specificities of our team is the development of time-resolved characterization techniques at the scale of the single molecule (fluorescence and resistance pulse).

The current topics are split in 3 main axes:


• Transport under confinement and nanofluidic
This topic aims to understand the transport phenomena of simple electrolytes (ions), (bio)macromolecules (proteins, DNA), protein aggregates, amyloid and nanoparticles through a single nanopore. In this field, our activity focuses on semiconductor and polymer nanopores whose geometry and surface functions can be tuned according to the targeted properties. Beside the fundamental aspect, we aim at the development of single-molecule-scale analytical systems for protein assemblies and nanoparticles.


Analytical chemistry, 90, 12900–12908 (2018)
Sensors and Actuators B: Chemical, 260, 736–745 (2018)
Langmuir, 32, 8916–8925 (2016)
Soft Matter, 13, 496–502 (2016)


• Biomimetic nanopore
This topic aims to design nanopores that mimic the functions of ion channels in terms of selectivity and response to stimuli (pH, light, ligand, etc.). This type of nanopore can have different applications as a sensor, osmotic energy conversion or logic circuit. In addition to the applications, we are also interested in the behaviour of polyelectrolytes and polymers used to functionalize nanopores (swelling, conformation, adsorption/desorption kinetics, etc.).

The journal of physical chemistry letters, 11, 60–66 (2020)
ACS applied materials & interfaces, 11, 12578–12585 (2019)
Biosensors & bioelectronics, 137, 207–212 (2019)
Chemical communications 51, 5994–5997 (2015)


• (Biomacro)molecules at solid/liquid interfaces
We are interested in the phenomena that occur at the solid/liquid interface, specifically the adsorption of (bio)macromolecules and dye. In this field, we are trying to understand the structure/properties relationship of proteins when they are loaded onto a material. To do so, we are developing experimental devices based on time-resolved fluorescence and confocal spectroscopy.


Advances in colloid and interface science, 270, 278–292 (2019)
Colloids and surfaces. B, Biointerfaces, 183, 110419 (2019)
Langmuir 34, 8866–8874 (2018)
Colloids and surfaces. B, Biointerfaces, 157, 10–17 (2017)

This section doesn't contain any article.

UM MUSE Carnot Chimie Balard Cirimat Pole Balard

Nos tutelles

ENSCM CNRS UM

Notre production

IEM HAL

Rechercher





Accueil > Recherche > Les départements scientifiques > Design de Matériaux Membranaires et systèmes Multifonctionnels (DM3) > Interfaces et nanopores biomimétiques : INB

Interfaces et nanopores biomimétiques : INB

Personnel permanent :

Sébastien BALME

MC-31 UM

Jean-Marc JANOT

CR-14 CNRS

Le cluster « Interfaces et nanopores biomimétiques » regroupe des compétences pluridisciplinaires chimie-physique et biophysique. Les problématiques abordées sont celles de l’adsorption, du transport et du confinement de molécules biologiques ou d’intérêt biologiques. L’une des spécificités de notre cluster est le développement de technique de caractérisation en temps résolue à l’échelle de la molécule unique (fluorescence et pulse de résistance).

 
Les activités de recherche de l’équipe se décomposent en 3 axes :

 

Transport sous confinement et nanofluidique

Ce sujet vise à comprendre les phénomènes de transport d’électrolytes simples (ions), de (bio)macromolécules (protéines, ADN), d’agrégats de protéine, d’amyloïde et de nanoparticules à travers un nanopore unique. Dans ce domaine, notre activité se concentre sur les nanopores à en semi-conducteur et polymère dont la géométrie et les fonctions de surface sont ajustable en fonction des propriétés visées. Outre l’aspect fondamental, nous visons le développement de système analytique à l’échelle de la molécule unique pour les assemblages des protéines et les nanoparticules.

 

Analytical chemistry, 90, 12900–12908 (2018)
Sensors and Actuators B : Chemical, 260, 736–745 (2018)
Langmuir, 32, 8916–8925 (2016)
Soft Matter, 13, 496–502 (2016)
 
 

Nanopores biomimétiques

Ce thème vise à concevoir des nanopores mimant les fonctions du vivant (canaux ionique) pour terme de sélectivité, de réponse aux stimuli (pH, lumière, ligand etc.). Ce type de nanopore peut avoir différentes applications comme capteur, la conversion d’énergie osmotique ou de circuit logique. Outre les applications, nous nous intéressons également au comportement des polyélectrolytes et des polymères utilisé pour fonctionnaliser les nanopore (gonflement, conformation, cinétique d’adsorption/desorption, etc…)

 
The journal of physical chemistry letters, 11, 60–66 (2020)
ACS applied materials & interfaces, 11, 12578–12585 (2019)
Biosensors & bioelectronics, 137, 207–212 (2019)
Chemical communications 51, 5994–5997 (2015)
 

(Biomacro)molécules aux interfaces solides/liquides

Nous nous intéressons aux phénomènes qui se produisent à l’interface solide/liquide, plus précisément l’adsorption de (bio)macromolécules et de colorant. Dans ce domaine, nous nous efforçons de comprendre la relation structure/propriétés des protéines lorsqu’elles sont chargées sur un matériau. Pour ce faire, nous développons des dispositifs expérimentaux basés sur la fluorescence résolue dans le temps et la spectroscopie confocale.

 

Advances in colloid and interface science, 270, 278–292 (2019)
Colloids and surfaces. B, Biointerfaces, 183, 110419 (2019)
Langmuir 34, 8866–8874 (2018)
Colloids and surfaces. B, Biointerfaces, 157, 10–17 (2017)

Cette rubrique ne contient aucun article.